top of page
  • Writer's pictureandra.popan

5 Things To Do In Porto On A Budget

Updated: Dec 9, 2018

I spent a weekend in Porto back in 2015, when I was a volunteer in Portugal. Of the 5 weeks I volunteered there, most of my time was in Lisbon. Therefore, the one long weekend I had there, I had to take a trip to Porto. I took an intercity bus from Lisbon and the trip took about 4 hours. Porto is cozy, romantic, beautiful. Much to see, but here’s a list of cheap and free things to do to experience the great vibe of this city. And of course, a lot of wine involved.

1. Go see Porto Cathedral (Sé do Porto) You don't have to pray, but you will be thanking God you got here. Visiting the church is free (around 3eur if you want to see the cloister as well). It's got a mix of architectural styles, a splendid view of the city and Douro River and it is considered the most important monument of the city.

I mean, the SIDE looks like this.

2. Go have a glass of wine at the bar of Guindalense Football Club. Literally the bar of a football club. But not to worry, you neither have to be a sports fan to enjoy it, nor to be willing to start a fight. You just have to like wine and cheap plastic tables. I hope it hasn't changed in the meantime, but I absolutely loved the place. Very simple, but with some of the best views, prices and atmosphere in Porto. Hidden under the bridge, it’s on my list of most memorable sunsets ever. Locals were chilling, watching a football game on TV, a cat came by to join us and ended up sitting on my lap, all in all it was cozy and authentic.

This view, and a glass of wine. Or more.

3. Go eat a francesinha. It’s a huge meal and a real calorie bomb. This is a sandwich that has ham, sausage, steak or roast beef, all covered in cheese, topped with an egg and a sauce made of tomatoes and beer. I split one with a friend and we were both fat by the end of the meal. We went to the restaurant where this dish was born, called “A Regaleira”. The place is cozy but not fancy, the food is good and the people friendly.

Later edit: I apparently have no photographic proof of this feast. I seemed to have been in a "too-cool-for-food-pictures" stage. It was a while ago. 4. Walk the Cais da Ribeira. By day it's a lively street, right by the river bank, with market stalls, restaurants and boats tied up by the piers. And at night the Dom Luis bridge is spectacular.

If you get too drunk to see this at night, here's a photo of it.

5. Go to the beach in Foz, on the outskirts of Porto. Even if it’s not summer. It’ll only cost you a bit to get there, the local bus is affordable, especially for a penniless volunteer / student / backpacker / whatever you happen to be. I was there in late November and the weather was still nice enough for a walk on the beach.

And for a selfie.

71 views

Recent Posts

See All

Andrada's 5

bottom of page