top of page
  • Writer's pictureandra.popan

5 Things I Learned Working as a Model in Seoul

Before I disappoint you and right after we get over the jokes, the modeling job I did was for actual clothes. Jeans, to be specific. No sex stories, nothing weird. But you will get to see photos of me if you keep reading.

1. You can actually find decent work on Craigslist. For me, it all started with a Craigslist ad for a job, looking for a "Caucasian girl, clothing size Small, for fashion shoots". I'm Romanian, weighing 50kg. Thought I'd go see what it's all about; I mean what could go wrong, lol But the company was legit, the team was nice, I got the job. Photos were mostly posted online, in Korean and Japanese magazines. And it was a real modeling job, with actual clothes, professional photographers and decent pay.

OK, some of those shorts were really short.

2. The work is not as easy it seems. The shooting days were long, sometimes required traveling outside of the city, with quickly changing outfits in the back of the car, wearing uncomfortable shoes, uncomfortable bras (see #5), itchy fake tans, lots of makeup, feeling cold or really hot. Still, it's enjoyable. Nobody hit on me, everybody was super professional, I liked the team a lot - in case you were wondering.

It was a hot summer day and I was wearing A (fake) FUR.

3. I look like Anne Hathaway One of the girls in the team told me so, as she was doing my makeup. Actually, Koreans in general were constantly praising my looks; not sure if they were just being polite or actually meant it, but I really enjoyed that part, I must admit.

I mean, I do seem to have some of that "Devil Wears Prada" thing, right?

4. It's easier as a girl, in this business. I mean, I pretty much just had to be skinny (and have a decent looking face, but they would fix that with makeup and Photoshop anyway). My photoshoot partner had to be tall, fit, reveal a six pack, a good looking face, defined biceps, nice hair. He had a disciplined gym routine and mostly ate kimbap (rice rolls). What did I eat during the shooting breaks? Pizza.

I would like to thank my metabolism for that.

5. The stick-on bra is shit. It sticks to your breasts alright, but after a few hours you start sweating like crazy underneath (it is silicone, after all) and then it will slowly peel off and slip. But hey, they needed those tops to not look like they were on display on an ironing board.

Those tits? Just as fake as the tan.

Photos by @sunupsnap and soundrawing.net


309 views

Recent Posts

See All

Andrada's 5

bottom of page